Republic congo rwanda

The picture of republic congo rwanda and indian ocean coast with tanzania kenya border Tanzania is a country located in East Africa, covering approximately 937, 000 square kilometres. It is East Africas largest nation, located just south of the equator. It is bordered by Kenya and Uganda to the north, The Democratic Republic of Congo, Rwanda and Burundi to the West and Malawi and Mozambique to the south. Tanzania is a land of diverse beauty from its Indian Ocean Coast, to the

Great Rift Valley,

Mount Kilimanjaro

Mount Kilimanjaro, standing tall at 5,895 metres or 19,341 feet above sea level is the highest mountain in Africa and the highest free standing mountain in the world. It is sometimes referred to as the rooftop of Africa and is a dormant volcanic mountain located in

Mount Kilimanjaro National Park in Northern Tanzania close to the Tanzania-Kenya border. It is located 340 Kilometres south of the

Equator and is peak is eternally covered by snow. The United Nations recognises Kilimanjaro National park as a world heritage site.

Serengeti National Park

World famous Serengeti is Tanzanias oldest and most popular national park. The name Serengeti comes from a

Maasai word meaning the place where the land moves on forever. The vast Serengeti region consists of the park itself, the

Ngorongoro Conservation Area,

Ikorongo Controlled Areas and the

Maasai Mara National Reserve in Kenya. The park is visited by over 90, 000 visitors each year. The park covers an area of 14, 763 square kilometers and is continous with the Maasai Mara National Reserve in Kenya.

The great migration, touted as the eighth wonder of the world; when over a million wildebeest and 200, 000 zebras, move into the Maasai Mara and back is perhaps its biggest attraction. However, the Serengeti grasslands are home to a wide variety of wildlife including; Lion, Leopard, Elephant, Rhinoceros and Buffalo, collectively known as The Big Five as well as cheetah, gazelle, eland, topi, waterbuck, hyena, baboon, impala, giraffe amongst other mammals. The Serengeti also boasts about 500 species of birds such as the flightless ostrich, secretary bird, kori bustard, lovebirds and several species of vultures. The park is also home to diverse vegetation and beautiful landscapes. The Serengeti is also listed as a world heritage site.

Ngorongoro Conservation Area

The Ngorongoro conservation area is a conservation area and UNESCO World Heritage site located 180 Kilometres from

Arusha in Tanzanias crater highlands. The major attraction in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area is the

Ngorongoro crater. This is the largest unbroken and unflooded volcanic caldera. The crater is believed to have been formed when a giant volcano exploded and collapsed on itself, creating a crater 210 metres or 2016 feet deep covering an area of about 260 square kilometres and about 20 Kilometres across.

The area also teems with wildlife including, lions, wildebeest, zebra, black rhinoceros and a host of other animals. It is also home to the Maasai whose culture is a major attraction. The area is also home to

Olduvai Gorge, considered

Homo habilis fossil in the area as well as

Paranthropus boisei. Olduvai Gorge is a steep sided ravine in the Great Rift Valley in the eastern Serengeti plains of northern Tanzania. It is one of the most important prehistoric sites in the world.

Mafia Island

Mafia Island is a beautiful paradise located in The Indian Ocean on the Tanzanian Coast. It is part of the

Tanzanian Spice Islands together with

Zanzibar. It is located 25 Kilometres from mainland Tanzania and 135 kilometres from Dar es Salaam. Mafia Island history goes as far back as the 8 th century playing a major role in the ancient trade between the East African Coast and the Far East. It is this rich history, coupled with the strong Swahili culture of its people uncontaminated by tourism together with its spectacular beaches that make this island a tropical paradise.

It is a good place for deep sea fishing, diving and snorkelling and a great place to swim with white sharks, since this is one of the few places they make their annual congregations.

Mahale Mountains National Park

Lake Tanganyika in Western Tanzania. The park is named after the

Mahale Mountains range located within the park. The park is home to some of the worlds remaining wild chimpanzees who are the parks main attraction. Mahale is a remote park accessible only by boat via Lake Tanganyika and with no roads within the park; it has to be toured on foot. The park is the only place where lions and chimpanzees co-exist. The park also supports diverse plant life and is also home to red colobus, red tailed and blue monkeys and several colourful forest birds.

More from our blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *